Week 56 Nov. 25, 2019 The mission is fun!

Well, a lot of stuff has gone down in these past two weeks and I forgot to write last week so that makes things harder. 

On Monday I had to say goodbye to everyone which is always the worst. Super sad. Tons of people gave me corte so that was pretty nice. Then I had to toss everything into my suitcase, again. 

Tuesday I had to wake up early to get to changes at 7. But my comp didn't want to wake up so we missed the bus. But as we were walking out of our house a member drove past and saw me with my maletas and stopped and offered to take us to xela. It was pretty awesome too because we live right on the highway from the coast to Xela and this guy went from guate then to the coast and then to Xela, which is a super weird route. But he happened to pass right by us and save the day.




We got to changes and I got sent to Las Rosas Huehue, right outside of chiantla with Elder Van Wagoner. He's super chill. He's from highland. Which means he's utahteco which means he's Gringo. Not to be mean but… LETS GOOO. IDK it feels nice to speak English. Also, he's the hardest worker out there. Straight up just wakes up in beast mode. He's basically my personal trainer. It makes me work out super hard and then makes me breakfast. The only downside is I have to wash the dishes, but de plano. Our house is super nice. Put in some carpet and its probably like a ghetto missionary house in the states. We have two, clean, bathrooms and an oven. The only problem is we have to shower with buckets. But it's not that bad tbh. We just fill up a bucket and there's this weird like heat coil thing that you pop in the water and it heats it up.


The area is pretty nice. Its weird cuz it's in the city but there's also parts that feel like an aldea. There's a lot of money but there's also a lot of poverty. The members are awesome and they actually get things done here. 

We had a baptism Saturday for un jovencito named titi. He's 12 and super pilas. The missionaries had been working with him for over a year and he never wanted to get baptized but then one Sunday the bishop asked him what he wanted to eat after his baptism, just like joking, and he said pizza and then they just set a fecha right then. So yeah that was before I got there so it doesn't really count as my baptism but were still pretty tight. The baptism went super well. A lot of people showed up and a lot of investigators too. The only problem is the kid that baptized him is a little special and forgot the words and then how to hold him and so basically everyone in the room was yelling instructions to him which just confused him and made things worse. But in the end, everything turned out fine.

Sunday we were running all over the place trying to get people to come to church and we ended up with 6 asistencias. My comp was super pumped about it the whole day. We had dinner with the obispo and him and his family are just the best. 

Monday we spent a whole bunch of money on like stuff I would never eat but my new comp is like super healthy so like bah.


Tuesday we had a cita with a super pilas girl. She's 10 and were working with her mom too. They both want to be baptized but the problem is Mari, or the mom isn't married with her novio. That's not a problem though because there's a lot of member lawyers that do weddings for free if its for a baptism. The problem is, the novio is married to someone else and would have to get a divorce first which is basically impossible to do in Guatemala. Anyway, Mari cant get baptized but her daughter can so we put a fecha with her. Apparently, her dad, the novio, doesn't want her to do it but she told him she wasn't gonna listen to him because he's not her real dad. So yea pilas. But we've been passing with her every day just trying to teach all the lessons. She brings three of her friends every time and they're like the funnest lessons to teach. Idk why but they're just so simple but awesome at the same time. And the kids pay attention and answer all the questions. They know more about Jose Smith than most adult investigators. 

Thursday we had to go to a cita in the morning and as we were walking pres. Diaz pulled up to us and asked what we were doing and then told us to go back home because he was gonna check out our house. So we had to run back home while he looked to see if it was clean. Luckily it was though because my comps super organized. But I was kinda nervous. After that, we had to go to Xela because my comp had a meeting because he just finished his first change. It was pretty nice because we got to stay in the temple hotel. I took the best shower I've had in over a year. 

The next day we woke up at 430 went to the temple at 5. It was really good. Real refreshing. Then we had the little meeting with all the kinda nuevos. Then we took the bus ride back to HH with a bunch of other missionaries. So it was actually a pretty fun day. Got to talk to a lot of people I haven't seen in a long time. 


Sunday we went to the house of Michelle at 10 and her and her friends and little siblings were all ready for church. Without any parents to help them. It was awesome. It was about 6 of them and they had a good time. Later we went to a mission call opening for a girl in the ward. She's going to Mexico City. It was really cool because the whole ward came pretty much. Everyones super close and super faithful. Pretty much every active member has gone on a mission or is going to go on a mission which is good for us because they help us a bit more.

Monday we went and played volleyball with some people from our zone and some people from another zone and then we went and ate at a restaurant together. Super simple but super fun. The mission is fun.

Comments

Popular Posts