January 13, 2020 Dylan goes to the temple

Hey guys major events this week.

We took Dylan to the temple on Thursday. It was a really good experience. We had to take a big fat chicken bus which is never fun and then we had to walk from the terminal in Xela to the temple. We wanted to get there at like 10 but traffic was so bad we ended up getting there at 1130. All the temple workers leave at 12 so we were kinda sketchin. Cause then Dylan had to change and we had to do a few things and so we ended up getting in at 1155 but they were homies and helped us out until about 1230. It was really cool because Dylan brought his own names. It was really weird to see because when we were helping him, I'm used to seeing my genealogy go back til like 300 years a.c. but he and his parents were the only ones on his tree. But he was able to print off names of his abuelos. I baptized him for his abuelo and he baptized his cousin for his grandma. It was pretty awesome. The only bad thing is we lost our phone.

My phone always falls out of my pockets idk why. But just being cautious I gave it to my comp cuz I knew it would fall out on the bus. Turns out my comp has the exact same pants as me and so the phone falls out of his pockets really easily too. So that phone is long gone. No hay chance of recovering it. But it's all good cuz the next day we had interviews with president and he brought us a new one and it's wayy better. All the elders are saying they're gonna break their phone so they can get a new one.

We had a pretty cool lesson with Edvin. We just went to teach like normal but then out of nowhere the Elders Quorum president and his counselor showed up. Without us inviting them. Pilas. The pres is awesome and is a RM. The councilor is kinda old and crazy and just started it off without small talk and told this wild story about how he got jumped when he was a kid and they tried to shoot him but the gun didn't work so that's how he knew God existed. It was pretty wild and it was like 15 min long. After that they just started talking about the Book of Mormon and stuff. It was pretty funny. Edvin came to church on Sunday too so that was awesome.

We had this one cita where this guy was trying to tell us god and christ were the same person. Tbh I don't have a lot of firepower on that subject because honestly a lot of people don't believe that here, nonetheless we started whippin out scriptures. Like Mateo 3, 548, Genesis 322 and finally when Esteban gets stoned in acts. He says “I see the son of man standing on the right hand of God”. In Spanish derecha is right and diestra is right hand. The scriptures say the son of man is standing on the diestra of god. The man was trying to tell us that because it doesn't say derecha that they were the same person. Idk it was too much apostasy for me so we dipped real quick.

We found some jovenes last week twins of 18 years and their brother of 23 and their friend of 22. They're super cool and they're actually really interested. We joke around with them a lot but then we can also bring the spirit in and teach a good lesson. So we have some high hopes for them.

 A scripture I really like this week is Mosiah 5:13 that says, “How knoweth a man the master whom he has never served?”
I think it can be applied in many different ways but Ill let you meditate about it.


Elder Severe

Comments

Popular Posts